Daily card: 8 of Swords

Image (1).jpg

Swords again today. Following from yesterday’s theme, the 8 of Swords speaks of restriction, feeling stuck, isolated, wanting to be rescued.

This card does not resonate with me strongly today. I don’t want to feel like a victim. I don’t need rescuing.

By drawing this card, am I now more likely to see myself as the figure in the 8 of Swords? Will I be more likely to look for experiences that demonstrate the message of this card? Does drawing the card become a self-fulfilling prophecy?

Probably, if you let it. It’s like how when I decided to buy a bike, I started noticing bikes everywhere. I have a friend who always notices triple digits on car number plates, to the extent that he believes they convey some sort of spiritual message.

I believe this demonstrates the power of the mind. We see what we want to see, and we can effect our own emotional well being.

I interpret the 8 of Swords today as a reminder that I am free. I could feel stuck and restricted if I chose to. I am grateful that I can choose not to. The figure in the card is bound and surrounded by swords, but freedom is just a few steps away. Sometimes you need to take a leap.

Leave a Reply

